IPA News

28 May 2015

The IPA invites applications for Gösta Bruce Scholarships for ICPhS-2015. These scholarships are supported by donations to the Gösta Bruce Memorial Fund, which honors the previous IPA president, and are awarded every four years for ICPhS. They are meant to subsidize students’ travel costs, and are paid directly to the student winners. This year a total of €5000 will be awarded. Awards will be for €350, €200, or €100, depending on travel distance. We expect to give approximately 10 awards of €350, 5 of €200, and 5 of €100. By the terms of the Fund, half of the awards will be for research on prosody, and half for other areas of phonetics.

Current student members of the IPA who are first or sole author of a paper or poster, presented by the student at ICPhS-2015, who have *not been awarded a 2015 IPA Student Award*, and who did *not receive a Gösta Bruce Scholarship for ICPhS-2011*, are eligible to apply. To apply, please email the Secretary (keating@humnet.ucla.edu) a copy of your accepted ICPhS paper (and if it is not clear from the title, please note if your paper is about prosody), plus a brief statement of where you will be traveling from, the cost of your travel to/from Glasgow, and what other funding you have available. Finally, please include the name and email address of your supervisor for the research reported in your paper. The deadline for applications is Sunday June 14.

12 May 2015

Nine new Group 3 members of the Permanent Council for the Organization of ICPhS were elected for the period 2015-2023 by members of the Permanent Council. The 9 elected members are:

  • Plinio Barbosa, Brazil
  • Paul Boersma, The Netherlands
  • Gerard Docherty, Australia
  • Björn Grandström, Sweden
  • Jonathan Harrington, Germany
  • John Kingston. U.S.A.
  • Haruo Kubozono, Japan
  • Justus Roux, South Africa
  • Maria Josep Solé, Spain

Their term will begin at the August ICPhS meeting in Glasgow. Congratulations to the new members.

3 May 2015

The IPA announces 22 student members receiving IPA Student Awards for participation in ICPhS-2015. They are: Hye-young Bang, Anastasia Chionidou, Mirjam de Jonge, Eleanor Drake, Luke Galea, Tyler Heston, Shiori Ikawa, Anna Jespersen, Oriana Kilbourn-Ceron, Yoonjeong Lee, Michael McAuliffe, Christina Otto, Maida Percival, Page Piccinini, Amanda Ritchart, Timo Roettger, Scott Seyfarth, Stavroula Sotiropoulou, Taja Stoll, James Tanner, Rory Turnbull, and Shufang Xu. The Awards cover the Congress registration fee and housing. Congratulations!

1 May 2015

The next Council of the IPA has now been elected. Twenty members were elected by the entire membership (originally 21, but John Ohala has resigned). These 20 then elected a further 10 "co-opted" members. The 30 members of the new Council will be: Amalia Arvaniti, Michael Ashby, Patricia Ashby, Plinio Barbosa, William J. Barry, Patrice Beddor, Gerard Docherty, John H. Esling, Janet Fletcher, Cécile Fougeron, Martine Grice, Jonathan Harrington, Keith Johnson, Patricia Keating, Asher Laufer, Wai-Sum Lee, Ian Maddieson, Kofi Adu Manyah, Alexis Michaud, Ailbhe Ní Chasaide, Katerina Nicolaidis, Francis J. Nolan, Daniel Recasens, Adrian Simpson, Maria-Josep Solé, Jane Stuart-Smith, Marija Tabain, Masaki Taniguchi, Jacqueline Vaissière, and John Wells. Congratulations to the new Council, and thanks to all who stood for election.

31 Mar 2015

For ICPhS2015, the Association is offering up to 20 IPA Student Awards of £366. We invite applications for these Awards as soon as ICPhS acceptance notifications have been received. Information about applying for the Awards has been emailed to all Student members of the Association; anyone needing further information should contact the Secretary. The deadline for applications is April 18; decisions will be announced before May 1.