IPA News

7 Oct 2015

The Association's Facebook page, https://www.facebook.com/internationalphoneticassociation, is featuring posts about the student members who won IPA Student Awards or Gosta Bruce Scholarships to attend ICPhS in August. You don't have to be a FB member to see these posts.

4 Aug 2015

The IPA Exam page has been updated to include new material, with lots more advice to help you prepare for the Exam. The next Exam is scheduled for 1st September 2015 in London. The deadline has been extended till 14th August.

14 Jul 2015

Two IPA meetings at ICPhS are open to all Association members. On Tuesday 11 August, the Editor of the Journal of the IPA, Adrian Simpson, will chair the JIPA Board of Editors' meeting. This meeting is now scheduled for *Boisdale 1* from 12:30 to 14:00. On Wednesday 12 August, the President of the IPA, John Esling, will chair the Association’s business meeting. This meeting is now scheduled for *Alsh 1* from 12:30 to 14:00. All members of the Association are welcome at these meetings.

As the final stage of IPA elections for 2015-2019, the newly-elected Council has chosen its Executive Committee, charged under the Association's statutes with "running the current affairs of the Association". The new officers will be: President, Patricia Keating, UCLA, Los Angeles, USA; Vice President, Adrian Simpson, Friedrich-Schiller U., Jena, Germany; Secretary, Gerard Docherty, Griffith U., Brisbane, Australia; Treasurer, Michael G. Ashby, UCL, London, UK; Editor, Amalia Arvaniti, U. of Kent, Canterbury, UK. Their terms will begin at the August ICPhS meeting.

2 Jul 2015

The IPA announces 20 student members receiving Gösta Bruce Scholarships for participation in ICPhS-2015. They are: Ann Aly, Helena Beeley, Yifei Bi, Tingting Brengelmann, Ricky Chan, Una Chow, Mattias Franken, Sarah Hamilton, Jonathan Havenhill, Qandeel Hussain, Martin Kohlberger, Eleanor Lewis, Miguel Llompart-Garcia, Henrik Niemann, Kimmo Peltola, Rebekka Puderbaugh, Zhen Qin, Mitko Sabev, Amos Teo, and Andreas Windmann. Congratulations!

These 20 scholarships total €5000 and are funded by the Gösta Bruce Memorial Fund, which honors the previous IPA president. Many thanks to all who have donated to the Fund this year, making possible this large number of awards.

With the 22 IPA Student Awards announced earlier, the Gösta Bruce Scholarships bring to 42 the total number of student awards for ICPhS-2015 from the Association.